Content Consumer

This Is Not Art: Bike Fixing

leave a comment »

So the hostel I’m staying at for TINA is a 10 – 15 minute walk from the fesival hub. A bike would be a fantastic solution to this problem. The good news: TINA has a bike library. The bad news: I didn’t preregister a bike weeks ago, so I don’t get one.

However, there are piles of discarded, unloved and very broken bikes that the organisers have collected. If you can repair one to a ride-worthy state, you can borrow it. I tried to do this today under the tutelage of a bike-hippy-mechanic guy named Daniel, and didn’t get very far before I had to go off to the introductury electronic music workshop. It looked pretty rideable to me, but Daniel wanted to take the whole thing apart and make it fantastic (and safe).

I’m going to go back and do some more work tomorrow and hopefully get a bike out of it. There were lots of other people doing the same thing. The whole point of it, as Daniel and the others kept pointing out, is that we throw out bikes that could really easily be fixed, and that can still have a lot of value derived from them.

I’m really shit at working with my hands, but most of the operations are pretty simple if you have someone telling and showing you what to do. I find the experience really wholesome, and I can step back and look at something and think “Hey, I just made that, kind of, except it was actually made in a factory and then broken and then I put it back together but not really because Dan did most of the work.” Fantastic stuff.

Written by atroche

October 2, 2008 at 5:34 pm

Posted in tina

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

